Posted by: danzaland | March 30, 2013

Youthful Innovation

Gary Vaynerchuk posted a photo of and excerpt of an interview he recently did.
GaryV_Lost_teens
Being in my late 30’s I COMPLETELY understand what he’s getting at and regret my wasted 20’s. Yes my wasted 20’s. I was able to take a few chances and got to be a part of a web start-up that failed, but other than that not much.

It has to do with what Gary calls your DNA. Listening to Gary’s story he was very motivated and hustled as a kid. Me? I was a B student. I did what I had to do to get by and keep life from being unpleasant at home. My DNA at that point was to be average, do what I was told and not rock the boat too much. My father raised myself and my brother and I know it was hard. He did open the door for us to be self reliant and ready to make our way out in the cold hard world. He did also open my mind to alternative thinking about what was going on in the world. That the “official” story might just be that and not the truth. Armed with everything my father could pour into me I’ve been able to hear about guys like Gary, do some research on them and have an open mind to really listen to what each has to say, finding a way to make it my own. He also told us that anything we want to do had better be done before one gets married and definitely before we had kids. Sorry Dad. Screwed the pooch on that one…..
So being in my late 30’s with 20/20 vision, I can see the averageness that is taught to our kids. Do the teachers know about the alternatives that life can bring? Do they live the alternatives? If they don’t know how can they teach them?

In the end of this long diatribe I hope that we as a nation can start pointing out to our teenagers that they need to give it a shot! Take that risk. Those of you reading this get as many teenagers together and speak to them about this as a mentor. Have a talk with them about their passions and interests  and how they might capitalize on it sooner than later or never at all.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a few nephews and nieces to go speak too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

