Posted by: danzaland | February 27, 2012

Manifest Complacency

Complacency. Define it for yourself. For many it is having a job that they may not really like doing or even really care about. For some the job is something they really like to do, but it’s not the be all end all. Others are reaching for that complacency because they are trying to make ends meet and just plain survive.

I constantly battle my complacency. That game of spider solitaire is so much more inviting than pushing out another resume. When I do have a paycheck, complacency taps me on the shoulder and tells me I’ve done a good job, the check is in the account, relax.

It takes tons of effort to break the grip of complacency. Your family, your friends, your co-workers all pile on in their various ways if you begin to try and rock the boat. It seems the harder you try the stronger the resistance. It’s tough. The system is set up against the average person.

George Carlin clip: http://youtu.be/rsL6mKxtOlQ

Bill Hicks clip: http://youtu.be/7criyE09uy0

But maybe things are turning. Glenn Elhers posted on Facebook that he took part in an interview for a documentary about complacency.

I’m Fine, Thanks is that documentary.

Clip: http://youtu.be/Dqy-P4ANpZI

The film is associated with the website ManvsDebt.com, which looks very interesting in my initial overview.

I find my self latching onto, being motivated by, and getting behind projects like this using what little I have at my disposal. Right now that is my words and my community. I hope you will take a look at what is being said and reflect upon it and how it affects your life now and in the future.

I’m also hoping to set off the Google Alerts for Gary Vaynerchuk of WineLibraryTV and Vaynermedia, MJ DeMarco of The Millionaire Fastlane and Jack Spirko of The Survival Podcast and Five Minutes with Jack. I’d love to see these guys get behind the film or at least into it and for you to discover what these people have to say in hopes that something one of them says improves your life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

